Skip to content

Angry Bird Pattern – Red Bird

July 23, 2011

ANGRY BIRDS – Red Bird

Everyone seems to love the Angry Birds game, especially my husband – unfortunately, I can’t seem to get it on my phone so I am Angry Bird-less (boo Blackberry…)

My husband asked me to try and make an Angry Bird for his office so here’s my attempt.   I think it came out pretty well, considering I usually follow patterns, not make them!

Let me know if you have any questions or if something seems wonky with the pattern!

Angry Birds – Red Bird Pattern

Materials:

Yarn in assorted colors, more red than anything else

Size G crochet hook

Filling

Yarn needle

Body:

With Contrasting Color, ch 4 and join in a ring.  Ch 1 and work 8 sc in ring.

Rounds are worked in spiral form, without chains or turning between

Round 2: 2 sc in each sc (16 sts)

Round 3: sc in next sc, 2 sc in next sc. Repeat around (24 sts)

Round 4: sc in next 2 sc, 2 sc in next sc. Repeat around (32 sts)

Round 5: sc in next 3 sc, 2 sc in next sc.  Repeat around (40 sts)

Round 6: Join Main Color.  sc around.

Rounds 7 – 11: sc around.

Round 12: sc in next 3 sc, dec over next 2 sc. Repeat around (32 sts)

Round 13: sc in next 2 sc, dec over next 2 sc. Repeat around (24 sts)

Round 14: sc around

At this point, stuff the body as full as possible if you have’t already.

Round 15: dec around, bind off

Finish stuffing the body, and use the needle to sew tightly closed the top of the body.

Big Feather (Main Color):

Ch 4, join in ring.  Work 6 sc in ring

Rounds 1-4: sc around

Round 5-6: dec around

Bind off and bury the yarn end in the feather

Little Feather (Main Color):

Ch 4, join in ring. Work 4 sc in ring

Rounds 1-2: sc around

Round 3: dec around

Bind off and bury the yarn end in the feather

Tail (Black)

(Worked sideways)

Row 1: Ch 5, sc in 2nd ch from hook, sc across

Ch 1 and turn

Row 2: sc in next 2 sts, then ch 5

Row 3: Turn, sc in 2nd ch from hook, sc across

Ch 1 and turn

Row 4: sc in 2 two sts, then ch 3

Row 5: turn, sc in 2nd ch from hook, sc across.

Bind off.

It should look like three fingers, with the middle one longer than the side ones.

Beak (Yellow)

Make 3

Row 1: Ch 5, sc in 2nd ch from hook, sc across

Ch 1 and turn

Row 2: Sk 1 sc, sc in next 2 sc, ss in next sc

Ch 1 and turn

Row 3: Sk 1 sc, sc in next 2 sc.

Bind off

This makes a little triangle.  Sew up the three triangles into a pyramid shape to make the beak shape.

Eyes – Part 1 (White)

Make 2

Ch 3, join into a ring.  Work 6 sc in ring.

2 sc in each sc around.

Bind off with a ss.

Eyes – Part 2 (Black)

Make 2

Ch 3, join into ring.

Bind off with a ss.

Eyebrows (Black)

Make 2

Row 1: Ch 8, sc in 2nd ch from hook, sc across

Ch 1 and turn

Row 2: Sc in next two sc, ss in next two sc

Bind off (it will be halfway through the row)

Now time to assemble your angry bird!  Refer to a picture to put it all together :) Mostly, you need to have the face parts (beak, eyes, eyebrows) close together on the front.  The tail goes opposite the face, and the feathers go relatively on the top of the bird.

Time to attack some pigs!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2011 2:49 pm

    i LOVE IT. IM GOING TO MAKE THESE FOR MY KIDS FOR CHRISTMAS. THANK YOU SO MUCH GOD BLESS SALLY

  2. Anna permalink
    August 3, 2011 5:34 pm

    This is too cute! I love Angry Birds. :-)

  3. August 14, 2011 9:57 pm

    can you make a white chicken and green boomerang bird thank you

    • August 19, 2011 9:12 pm

      I’m in the process of making up the white chicken egg-laying bird! Just looking for the right color yarn :o) Hopefully it’ll be up in the next week or so. and then I’ll get on to the boomerang one!

  4. August 25, 2011 1:17 pm

    Love your pattern! Thanks for sharing it! I can’t wait to try it out!

  5. August 27, 2011 2:30 am

    I haven’t made the pattern but I think that you did an awesome job.

  6. September 4, 2011 11:06 pm

    thank you so much for the pattern! my older sister loves angry birds and i would love to make this for her. :) God bless

  7. Lan permalink
    September 23, 2011 7:05 am

    Hi,
    I love your pattern. I wonder if you have the yellow angry bird pattern . My 8 yrs daughter love the yellow one. I am the beginner on crochet and quite busy with my legal work :(

    If you have please help to send me the patter for me to make it for her on her November birthday. My email address is lantrantm@yahoo.com

    Thanks so much and highly appreciated your help.

    • September 23, 2011 4:06 pm

      I’m posting an un-tested yellow bird pattern now. I’m hoping to have it tested and fixed any bugs sometime this week :o) I know what you mean about being busy! Feel free to ask any questions you might have about the pattern – got to support those November birthdays!

      • Lee Shell permalink
        October 12, 2011 9:41 pm

        I printed the untested yellow bird and wonder if the bugs have been worked out. thanks.

      • October 15, 2011 6:36 pm

        yup, the pattern should be all set. you might want to make the eyes a little smaller but that’s personal preference. i just happened to notice that my yellow bird’s eyes are bigger than the other two

  8. Lee Shell permalink
    October 12, 2011 9:40 pm

    Love the angry birds. Looking forward to more.

  9. Fran permalink
    October 19, 2011 6:59 pm

    Thank you so much for posting these patterns. Love them and will be making them for my grandkids. Any chance of making angry bird hat patterns?

    Thank you.

    • October 20, 2011 1:24 pm

      Thanks for checking out my patterns – I hadn’t thought of doing an angry birds hat, but I might take a shot at it in November when I get more time to crochet!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

